Child Abuse in Minnesota

Child Abuse in Minnesota

The State of Minnesota identifies four types of maltreatment:
• Neglect
• Physical abuse
• Mental injury
• Sexual abuse

Minnesota’s child welfare data dashboard is dedicated to tracking the outcomes of children involved in the child welfare system after cases of abuse. Learn more about how the data is tracked, and find links to reports on state and federal progress in meeting measures that ensure children:

  • Are safe
  • Remain with their families when safe to do so
  • Receive services so children can return safely home and receive support to remain at home safely
  • Live in safe, stable homes with relatives whenever possible
  • Achieve permanency through adoption, if needed

To learn more about how to recognize and define different types of abuse, visit the Department of Human Service’s page, What is considered abuse and neglect in Minnesota?

Read more

Reporting abuse

To report a case of abuse, this Department of Human Services page lists the phone numbers for all of Minnesota’s county and tribal child protection agencies.

Find the phone number to report abuse